Award Winners 2018 

On the 31st August 2018, in a little town called Gunnedah, the winners of the 2018 Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Awards were presented with their prestigious prizes.

Congratulations to the below students who captivated the judges with their imagination and creativity.

Also worth mentioning are the wonderful students who received a Commended, Highly-Commended or Shortlisted poem, and as James Roy (Secondary Schools' Judge) said at the Presentation, "all these poems could have easily won. It was a tough decision." Our Project Officer, Brittany, has put together a document containing a list of the poems, as well as what the judges said about each one.

Click here to see the document.

The Dorothea Mackellar Poetry Awards wishes to thank all the teachers, students and parents who submitted poetry this year, as well as the sponsors, special guests and VIP's who make this whole competition possible.

We look forward to seeing next year's entries!

The 2018 anthology is available to pre-order now, with orders expecting to be shipped in October-November. See order form here.


Category Poet Poem & Judges' Comments
Senior Secondary

Tessa Harkin

St Michael's Collegiate, TAS

Senior Secondary
Runner Up

Willow Culbert

Hobart College, TAS

"Night Wanderers"

Junior Secondary

Kate Brenner

SCEGGS Darlinghurst, NSW

"Soul of the City"

Junior Secondary
Runner Up

Macklin Spicer

The Kilmore International School, VIC        

Assisted Learning Secondary

Lily Rout

Lourdes Hill College, QLD


Assisted Learning Secondary
Runner Up

Chris S.

Youth Education Centre, SA    

"Promises to my Family"
Upper Primary

Subai Ma

Ravenswood School for Girls, NSW

Upper Primary
Runner Up

Alexander Feehan

St Pius X College, NSW

Lower Primary

Adele Scully

Prouille Catholic Primary School, NSW

"Poetry in the Sky"
Lower Primary
Runner Up

Jai Walker

St Columba Anglican School, NSW

"Dandelions Haiku"

Assisted Learning Primary

Amy Kwak

Redeemer Baptist School, NSW

Assisted Learning Primary
Runner Up

Molly Chen

Chatswood Public School, NSW

"Hourglass Friendship"

Multicultural NSW

Wadia Mubashira

Narrabundah College, ACT

"desi woman"

David Maher Award for

Small Schools Winner

Hope Job

Booligal Public School, NSW

"Narn's Boots"

Schools' Award


Cherrybrook Public School, NSW  


Schools’ Award


St Michael's Collegiate, TAS  


Previous Winners

2016 Poetry Awards Booklet









2014 Dorothea Poetry Awards National Presentation Ceremony2015 Poetry Awards Booklet2013 Dorothea Poetry Awards National Presentation Ceremony   2012 Dorothea Poetry Awards National Presentation Ceremony2012 Dorothea Poetry Awards National Presentation Ceremony2011 Dorothea Poetry Awards National Presentation Ceremony2011 Dorothea Poetry Awards National Presentation Ceremony


Click year to view poetry from earlier competitions.

20042005200620072008, 2009, 2010, 2011, 2012, 2013, 2014